Difference between revisions of "Protege Client Server Tutorial Administration"

From Protege Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Line 40: Line 40:
 
* '''CLOSED_FOR_MAINTENANCE''' - The project is shut down on the server. New Protege clients will not be able to open this project.
 
* '''CLOSED_FOR_MAINTENANCE''' - The project is shut down on the server. New Protege clients will not be able to open this project.
  
 +
The sessions column shows what sessions (i.e, Protege clients) are connected to the project.
  
 +
 +
To '''stop a server project''' you need the permissions: ''Administer Server'' or ''Stop Remote Project'', which can be configured in the metaproject. See the [[Protege_Client_Server_Tutorial_Configuration|server configuration page]] for more details on how to do this.
 +
 +
If you have the appropriate permissions, you can stop a server project by selecting the project in the table and clicking on the "X" icon at the top right corner of the Remote Projects table. A dialog will come up. Set the time in minutes of when to shutdown the project and click on the OK button
 +
 +
 +
[[Image:ServerAdim_stopProject.png]]
  
  

Revision as of 11:27, February 13, 2009

Protege Server Administration

This page describes the administration of the Protege server. Included topics are:

  • User guide for the Protege Server Administration user interface
  • Starting and shutting down server projects
  • Killing other users' sessions

This page is part of the Protege client-server tutorial.



The Server Admin user interface

The Server Admin user interface allows the control of the Protege server in a user-friendly way. A user with the appropriate permissions (see the Policy section in the server configuration page can start or stop server projects for maintenance without shutting down the server, she may kill other users' sessions (e.g., zombie sessions), or may shut down the server. The Server Admin user interface provides also useful statistics about the server work load.

The user interface is composed of three tabs:

  • Projects Tab
  • Sessions Tab
  • Server Control Tab

The Server Admin interface can be started in the Server login panel by selecting the Administer server check box as shown in the figure below.


AdminServer login.png


Stopping and starting server projects

The Projects tab provides information about the available projects on the server.


ServerAdmin Projects.png


The Remote Projects table shows each project with its status and connected sessions. The status of a project is one of:

  • READY - The project is ready to use and can be opened by the Protege clients.
  • SHUTTING_DOWN - The project has been scheduled for shutting down. New Protege clients will not be able to open this project. The shut down can be canceled at this point.
  • CLOSED_FOR_MAINTENANCE - The project is shut down on the server. New Protege clients will not be able to open this project.

The sessions column shows what sessions (i.e, Protege clients) are connected to the project.


To stop a server project you need the permissions: Administer Server or Stop Remote Project, which can be configured in the metaproject. See the server configuration page for more details on how to do this.

If you have the appropriate permissions, you can stop a server project by selecting the project in the table and clicking on the "X" icon at the top right corner of the Remote Projects table. A dialog will come up. Set the time in minutes of when to shutdown the project and click on the OK button


ServerAdim stopProject.png



Read more about the Protege multi-user support in the Protege client-server tutorial.